Robustness

In animal research, there is often a lack of measures to reduce threats to validity such as bias or a lack of statistical significance. Measures to reduce such bias, such as randomization and blinding, are essential to ensure robust research results in addition to a sufficient number of test units. (Source: BIH QUEST Center)

🔄 Experimental design and statistical analysis

Section 4, Experimental Design and Statistical Analysis, of the PREPARE Guidelines provides much information on this subject, including links to online protocols and further reading ( link ).

 

🔄 Service unit biometrics at the ZI-Mannheim

In cooperation with the statistics department, the 3R Center offers statistical consulting services for scientists and helps researchers to put their research projects on a biometrically valid basis (email).

 

🔄 Test Planning Assistant (EDA)

"NC3R's Experimental Design Assistant" helps to create robust study protocols that are more likely to produce reliable and reproducible results. Protocols can be time-stamped and made publicly available (optional) to facilitate pre-registration. EDA also provides information on components and concepts critical to trial design, e.g., group and sample size, blinding, allocation ( link ).

 

🔄 PAASP Heidelberg

PAASP is a consulting and auditing company providing services and training in good research practice in non-preclinical, biomedical research areas with a particular focus on drug discovery and development ( link ).

 

🔄 EQIPD - European Quality in preclinical data

EQIPD aims to enable a smoother, faster and safer transition from preclinical to clinical testing and drug approval by establishing common guidelines to strengthen the robustness, accuracy and validity of research data ( link ).

 

🔄 Mouse models - white papers and manuals

Commercial providers of laboratory animals also provide helpful manuals and white papers:

Charles River - Strategies to Minimize Genetic Drift and Maximize Experimental Reproducibility in Mouse Research.

Envigo - 3R animal wellfare

The Jackson Laboratory Handbook on Genetically Standardized Mice (Sixth Edition)

Taconic - White Papers

Robustness

In der Tierversuchsforschung fehlen oft Maßnahmen zur Reduzierung von Validitätsbedrohungen wie Verzerrungen (Bias) oder mangelnde statistische Aussagekraft. Maßnahmen zur Reduzierung solcher Verzerrungen, wie Randomisierung und Verblindung, sind essentiell, um robuste Forschungsergebnisse neben einer ausreichenden Anzahl von Versuchseinheiten zu gewährleisten. (Quelle: BIH QUEST Center)

🔄 Versuchsplanung und statistische Auswertung

Abschnitt 4, 'Experimental Design and Statistical Analysis', der PREPARE-Richtlinien bietet viele Informationen zu diesem Thema, einschließlich Links zu Online-Protokollen und weiterführender Literatur (link).

 

🔄 Serviceeinheit Biometrie am ZI-Mannheim

Das 3R Zentrum bietet in Zusammenarbeit mit der Statistikabteilung statistische Beratungsleistungen für Wissenschaftler an und hilft Forschern, ihre Forschungsprojekte auf eine biometrisch valide Basis zu stellen (eMail).

 

🔄 Versuchsplanungs-Assistent (EDA)

„NC3Rs Experimental Design Assistant“ hilft bei der Erstellung von robusten Studienprotokollen, die mit höherer Wahrscheinlichkeit zuverlässige und reproduzierbare Ergebnisse liefern. Die Protokolle können mit einem Zeitstempel versehen und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden (optional), um die Vorregistrierung zu erleichtern. EDA liefert auch Informationen zu Komponenten und Konzepten, die für die Versuchsplanung entscheidend sind, z.B. Gruppen- und Stichprobengröße, Verblindung, Allokation (link).

 

🔄 PAASP Heidelberg

PAASP ist ein Beratungs- und Prüfungsunternehmen, das Dienstleistungen und Schulungen im Bereich der guten Forschungspraxis in nicht präklinischen, biomedizinischen Forschungsbereichen mit besonderem Schwerpunkt auf der Arzneimittelforschung und -entwicklung anbietet (link).

 

🔄 EQIPD – European Quality in preclinical data

EQIPD hat das Ziel, einen reibungsloseren, schnelleren und sichereren Übergang von der präklinischen zur klinischen Prüfung und Arzneimittelzulassung zu ermöglichen, indem sie gemeinsame Richtlinien zur Stärkung der Robustheit, Sorgfalt und Validität von Forschungsdaten aufstellen (link).

 

🔄 Mausmodelle - White Papers und Handbücher

Auch kommerzielle Anbieter von Versuchstieren stellen hilfreiche Handbücher und White Papers zur Verfügung:

Charles River - Strategies to Minimize Genetic Drift and Maximize Experimental Reproducibility in Mouse Research.

Envigo – 3R animal wellfare

The Jackson Laboratory - Handbuch über genetisch standardisierte Mäuse (Sechste Ausgabe)

Taconic - White Papers