shutterstock_463274885.jpg

Refinement

Reducing the suffering of animals used in research (source: Bf3R ) Further definitions of the 3R can be found on the website of the NC3R .

🔄 Rodent pain assessment

The intensity of " Facial action units' increases in response to post-procedural pain and could therefore be used as part of a pain assessment. The National Centre for the Replacement, Refinement & Reduction of Animals in Research (NC3Rs) offers several grimace scales for mice, rats and rabbits ( link ).

 

🔄 Pain management in laboratory rodents

The Swiss 3R Competence Center (Dr. Pauline Jirkof) presents currently available methods for pain management in laboratory rodents and discusses their advantages and disadvantages ( link ).

 

🔄 Humane endpoints

This website of the 3R Center Utrecht Life Sciences (ULS) helps people refine their experiments, improve their knowledge of animal welfare and increase the quality of their research. It provides information on human endpoints and teaches users how to identify human endpoints in rodents and fish ( link ).

 

🔄 NC3R's Rodent Welfare Hub

The Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC) is a facility of the National Agricultural Library of the US Department of Agriculture (USDA). AWIC provides comprehensive information on laboratory animal science and animal husbandry ( link ).

 

🔄 Reporting system for critical incidents in laboratory animal science (CIRS-LAS)

This critical incident reporting system is being set up by an interdisciplinary research group at the Jena University Hospital. Incidents can be reported by anyone and are always treated confidentially (Germany, Austria and Switzerland). Incident reports will be published in the members area after review ( link ).

 

🔄 RSPCA - How to Reduce Serious Suffering in Laboratory Animals

The Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (RSPCA) is a registered UK charity committed to animal welfare. The main goal of the RSPCA is to replace animal testing with humane alternatives worldwide. The RSPCA works with scientific institutions to inform about the severe suffering of laboratory animals and its reduction ( link ).

shutterstock_463274885.jpg

Refinement

Verringerung des Leidens der in der Forschung eingesetzten Tiere (Quelle: Bf3R) Weitere Definitionen der 3R finden Sie auf der Website des NC3Rs.

🔄 Schmerzbeurteilung bei Nagetieren

Die Intensität von " Facial action units’ nimmt als Reaktion auf post-prozedurale Schmerzen zu und könnte daher als Teil einer Schmerzbeurteilung verwendet werden. Das National Centre for the Replacement, Refinement & Reduction of Animals in Research (NC3Rs) bietet verschiedene Grimassen-Skalen für Mäuse, Ratten und Kaninchen an (link).

 

🔄 Schmerzmanagement bei Labornagern

Das Schweizer 3R-Kompetenzzentrum (Dr. Pauline Jirkof) stellt aktuell verfügbare Methoden zum Schmerzmanagement bei Labornagern vor und diskutiert deren Vor- und Nachteile (link).

 

🔄 Humane Endpunkte

Diese Website des 3R-Zentrums Utrecht Life Sciences (ULS) hilft Menschen, ihre Experimente zu verfeinern, ihr Wissen über Tierschutz zu verbessern und die Qualität ihrer Forschung zu steigern. Sie bietet Informationen über humane Endpunkte und lehrt die Benutzer, wie man humane Endpunkte bei Nagetieren und Fischen erkennt (link).

🔄 NC3Rs Rodent Welfare Hub

NC3Rs bietet Informationen zu einer Vielzahl von Themen, wie z.B. wie man eine Maus aufnimmt; genetisch veränderte Mäuse; Unterbringung und Haltung (link).

🔄 Tierschutz-Informationszentrum

Das Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC) ist eine Einrichtung der National Agricultural Library des U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). AWIC stellt umfassende Informationen zu den Bereichen Versuchstierkunde und Tierhaltung zur Verfügung (link).

 

🔄 Meldesystem für kritische Vorfälle in der Versuchstierkunde (CIRS-LAS)

Dieses Critical Incident Reporting System wird von einer interdisziplinären Forschergruppe des Universitätsklinikums Jena aufgebaut. Vorfälle können von jedem gemeldet werden und werden stets vertraulich behandelt (Deutschland, Österreich und Schweiz). Vorfallsberichte werden nach Prüfung im Mitgliederbereich veröffentlicht (link).

🔄 RSPCA - Wie man schweres Leiden bei Labortieren reduzieren kann

Die Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (RSPCA) ist eine eingetragene britische Wohltätigkeitsorganisation, die sich für den Tierschutz einsetzt. Das Hauptziel der RSPCA ist der Ersatz von Tierversuchen durch humane Alternativen weltweit. Die RSPCA arbeitet mit wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen zusammen, um über das schwere Leiden von Labortieren und dessen Verringerung zu informieren (link).