shutterstock_1682600725.jpg

Reporting

Published results often lack important information that is necessary for a critical assessment, such as: B. Information on the study design and a precise description of the methods. Authors should therefore adhere to reporting guidelines such as ARRIVE and include all necessary information in their publication (source: BIH QUEST Center).

🔄 ARRIVE Guidelines - Animal Research: Reporting of In Vivo Experiments

The ARRIVE guidelines were developed in consultation with the scientific community as part of an NC3Rs initiative to improve the standard of reporting on research involving animals ( link ). The ARRIVE guidelines are now available in a beta version 2.0 ( link ).

 

🔄 Equator Network - Find Report Policies

The EQUATOR (Enhancing the QUAlity and Transparency Of health Research) network provides a database of more than 400 reporting guidelines for all types of studies. The Equator Wizzard helps authors find the right reporting guidelines for their studies ( link ).

 

🔄 Recommendations for the publication of negative (or zero) results

This encouraging review article (Bespalov et al. 2019) describes a set of criteria that can help researchers publish technically sound, scientifically valuable negative (or null) results that come from rigorously designed and conducted studies ( link ) .

 

🔄 BIH QUEST: Fiddle

Fiddle is a tool developed by QUEST to combat publication bias. This "match-making" tool helps researchers find alternative ways of publishing information from well-designed experiments that are often difficult to publish in traditional journals (ie, zero or neutral results, datasets, etc.). These alternatives to traditional journals include data repositories, micro-publications, preprint publications, data journals, publication platforms and journals that are open to zero results ( link ).

🔄 FAIR guiding principles

In 2016, the "FAIR Guiding Principles for scientific data management and stewardship" were published in Scientific Data. The authors intended to provide guidelines for improving the discoverability, accessibility, interoperability, and reuse of digital assets. The principles emphasize machine discoverability (i.e., the ability of computer systems to find, access, interact with, and reuse data with little or no human intervention) as humans increasingly rely on computer assistance to handle data due to the increase in volume, complexity, and speed of creation of data( link ).

 

🔄 Open access journals

The Berlin Quest Center has established a list of biomedical open access journals that adhere to certain quality standards. This is an excellent starting point if you want to search for suitable open access journals for your research area (link).
The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a comprehensive database of Open Access journals for all research areas. The journals have to pass a quality review before they are listed in the DOAJ (link).

 

🔄 Open access publication costs

Most OA journals charge an "Article Processing Charges (APC)" as a condition of publication. The German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) provides a funding opportunity for Open Access publications from completed BMBF-funded projects. The so-called Post-Grant-Fund covers costs for publications after the end of a BMBF-funded project. Further information can be found on the BMBF website (link). 
Heidelberg University supports scientists who publish articles in Open Access journals by means of a publication fund from which funds can be requested for the pro-rata payment of publication fees. More information can be found on the university's page (link).

 

🔄 Repositories for open data

Repositories allow you to upload any material collected with your research project (data or analysis scripts).
Zenodo: Supports DOI generation, citable and no size limit (link).
Figshare: Universally usable repository, but limited to 5 GB (link).

 

🔄 Preprint server

Preprint servers are used to publish a preliminary version of your publication prior to submission to a peer-reviewed journal. The advantage is that you can make your work visible early on and receive comments from others to further improve your work.
- bioRxiv - preprint server for biomedical science (link)
- PeerJ - preprint server for the areas: biology, environmental sciences, medical sciences, health sciences

and computer science (link)

shutterstock_1682600725.jpg

Reporting

In veröffentlichten Ergebnissen fehlen oft wichtige Informationen, die für eine kritische Beurteilung notwendig sind, wie z. B. Angaben zum Studiendesign und genau Beschreibung der Methoden. Autoren sollten sich daher an Berichtsrichtlinien wie ARRIVE halten und alle notwendigen Informationen in ihre Publikation aufnehmen (Quelle: BIH QUEST Center).

🔄 ARRIVE-Richtlinien - Animal Research: Reporting of In Vivo Experiments

Die ARRIVE-Richtlinien wurden in Absprache mit der wissenschaftlichen Gemeinschaft als Teil einer NC3Rs-Initiative entwickelt, um den Standard der Berichterstattung über Forschung mit Tieren zu verbessern (link). Mittlerweile gibt es die ARRIVE-Richtlinien in einer beta version 2.0 (link).

 

🔄 Equator-Netzwerk - Suche nach Berichtsrichtlinien

Das EQUATOR-Netzwerk (Enhancing the QUAlity and Transparency Of health Research) bietet eine Datenbank mit mehr als 400 Berichtsrichtlinien für alle Arten von Studien. Der Equator Wizzard hilft Autoren, die richtigen Berichtsrichtlinien für ihre Studien zu finden (link).

 

🔄 Empfehlungen für die Publikation von negativen (oder null) Ergebnissen

Dieser ermutigende Review-Artikel (Bespalov et al. 2019) beschreibt eine Reihe von Kriterien, die Forschern helfen können, fachlich fundierte, wissenschaftlich wertvolle negative (oder Null-)Ergebnisse zu veröffentlichen, die aus stringend-konzipierten und durchgeführten Studien stammen (link).

 

🔄 BIH QUEST: Fiddle

Fiddle ist ein von QUEST entwickeltes Tool zur Bekämpfung von Publikationsverzerrungen. Dieses "Match-Making"-Tool hilft Forschern, alternative Wege zur Veröffentlichung von Informationen aus gut konzipierten Experimenten zu finden, die in traditionellen Fachzeitschriften oft schwer zu publizieren sind (d.h. Null- oder neutrale Ergebnisse, Datensätze, etc.). Zu diesen Alternativen zu traditionellen Zeitschriften gehören Daten-Repositorien, Mikropublikation, Preprint-Publikation, Daten-Journale, Publikationsplattformen und Zeitschriften, die für Null-Ergebnisse offen sind (link).

🔄 FAIR Guiding Principles

Im Jahr 2016 wurden die "FAIR Guiding Principles for scientific data management and stewardship" in Scientific Data veröffentlicht. Die Autoren beabsichtigten, Richtlinien zur Verbesserung der Auffindbarkeit, Zugänglichkeit, Interoperabilität und Wiederverwendung von digitalen Assets zu erstellen. Die Prinzipien betonen die maschinelle Auffindbarkeit (d. h. die Fähigkeit von Computersystemen, Daten ohne oder mit nur minimalem menschlichen Eingriff zu finden, darauf zuzugreifen, zu interagieren und sie wiederzuverwenden), da Menschen aufgrund der Zunahme des Volumens, der Komplexität und der Erstellungsgeschwindigkeit von Daten zunehmend auf Computerunterstützung beim Umgang mit Daten angewiesen sind (link).

 

🔄 Open-Access Zeitschriften

Das Berliner Quest-Zentrum hat eine Liste von biomedizinischen Open-Access-Journalen etabliert, die bestimmte Qualitätsstandards einhalten. Diese ist ein exzellenter Startpunkt, wenn Sie nach geeigneten Open-Access-Zeitschriften für Ihr Forschungsgebiet suchen wollen (link).
Das Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) ist eine umfassende Datenbank von Open-Access-Zeitschriften für alle Forschungsbereiche. Die Zeitschriften müssen eine Qualitätsprüfung durchlaufen, bevor sie im DOAJ gelistet werden (link).

 

🔄 Open-Access-Publikationskosten

Die meisten Open-Access Zeitschriften erheben eine „Article Processing Charges (APC)“ als Voraussetzung für die Veröffentlichung der Publikation. Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) bietet eine Fördermöglichkeit für Open Access-Publikationen aus abgeschlossenen BMBF-geförderten Projekten bereit. Der sogenannte Post-Grant-Fund übernimmt Kosten für Publikationen nach Ende eines BMBF-Förderprojekts. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Seite des BMBF (link). 
Die Universität Heidelberg unterstützt Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, die Artikel in Open-Access-Zeitschriften publizieren, durch einen Publikationsfonds, aus dem Mittel zur anteiligen Begleichung von Publikationsgebühren beantragt werden können. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Seite der Universität (link)

 

🔄 Repositorien für Open-Daten

Repositorien ermöglichen es Ihnen, alles Material hochzuladen, die mit Ihrem Forschungsprojekt gesammelt wurden (Daten oder Analyseskripte).
Zenodo: Unterstützt DOI-Generierung, zitierfähig und keine Größenbeschränkung (link).
Figshare: Universell einsetzbares Repositorium, aber auf 5 GB beschränkt (link).

🔄 Preprint-Server

Preprint-Server werden verwendet, um eine vorläufige Version Ihrer Publikation bereits vor der Einreichung bei einer begutachteten Zeitschrift zu veröffentlichen. Der Vorteil ist, dass Sie Ihre Arbeit frühzeitig sichtbar machen können und Kommentare von anderen erhalten, um Ihre Arbeit weiter zu verbessern.
- bioRxiv - Preprint-Server für die biomedizinische Wissenschaft (link)
- PeerJ - Preprint-Server für die Bereiche: Biologie, Umweltwissenschaften, Medizinische Wissenschaften, Gesundheitswissenschaften

und Computerwissenschaften (link)