shutterstock_1587990844.jpg

Reduction

Limit animal experiments to the necessary extent (source: Bf3R)

Further definitions of the 3R can be found on the NC3R's website.

🔄 AniMatch: Share animal resources

AniMatch is an online platform that enables scientists to connect and share organs and tissues from laboratory animals. After registration, AniMatch enables scientists to post and search offers for the multiple uses of laboratory animals. This encourages responsible use of a valuable biological resource and effectively reduces animal consumption. The 3R Zentrum Rhein-Neckar uses this platform for the Mannheim-Heidelberg area. Further partners are planned ( link ).

 

🔄 Organ bank rat at the ZI Mannheim

An organ bank with various alcohol-preferring rat lines was established at the ZI-Mannheim. The aim of the organ bank is to characterize the molecular cascades involved in alcohol-related diseases. In a comparative approach, an organ bank from alcohol-dependent patients is used. Using microarray approaches and proteome analyzes from the material of this organ bank, we will be able to detect molecular networks that trigger the pathological condition. This organ bank is a central facility for use by ZI researchers and, upon request, internationally permitted in a collaboration-based context ( link ).

 

🔄 SYstematic Review Center for Laboratory animal Experimentation (SYRCLE)

SYRCLE is the research and training center of the Animal Research Facility (CDL) at Radboud University Medical Center in the Netherlands. A review article published by SYRCLE entitled "A step-by-step guide to systematically identify all relevant animal studies" shows that "before starting a new animal study a thorough analysis of the previous experiments is essential from both a scientific and an ethical point of view. " ( link ).

 

🔄 Interspecies database

Anatomical, physiological and biochemical differences are the main factors that lead to discrepancies between humans and animals with regard to the kinetics of xenobiotics. The database, created by the National Institute for Public Health and Environment (RIVM) in the Netherlands and the 3Rs Center Utrecht Life Sciences (ULS), enables researchers to choose the best research model. Users can choose from different species and strains, organs, age groups, sex and certain parameters and compare them with each other or with human data ( link ).

 

🔄 Models in translational oncology (MiTO)

The MiTO platform, which is operated by the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), is a central component of the German Cancer Consortium. The platform enables scientists to enter their cancer models and search a wide range of other existing models, including animal models, patient samples, genetically homogeneous, permanently growing cell lines, and genetically heterogeneous primary cells derived from tissues of human patients or animals ( link ).

 

🔄 SEARCHBreast

The SEARCHBreast platform, established through NC3Rs funding, is a large network of breast cancer researchers with in vivo, in vitro and in silico models of breast cancer. SEARCHBreast enables the sharing of archived material from in vivo breast cancer models ( link ).

 

🔄 Munich MIDY Pig Biobank

The Munich MIDY Pig Biobank enables systematic studies on organ crosstalk in diabetes in a multi-organ and multi-omics dimension. MIDY pigs represent a model of poorly controlled diabetes mellitus (DM) in humans. This complex biobank was built up from 2-year-old MIDY and wild-type pigs ( link ).

 

🔄 QPS Austria GmbH - rodent biobank

QPS Austria is a full-service contract research institute (CRO) that focuses on CNS diseases, orphan diseases and mental disorders and offers both preclinical and clinical research services. Tissues from transgenic and non-transgenic animals of different age groups are available, such as brain tissue, liquor and plasma samples. The biobank is made up of various samples taken from in-house in-vivo models ( link ).

shutterstock_1587990844.jpg

Reduction

Tierversuche auf das unerlässliche Maß beschränken (Quelle: Bf3R)

Weitere Definitionen der 3R finden Sie auf der Website des NC3Rs.

🔄  AniMatch: Tierressourcen teilen

AniMatch ist eine Online-Plattform, die es Wissenschaftlern ermöglicht, Organe und Gewebe von Versuchstieren miteinander zu verbinden und zu teilen. Nach der Registrierung ermöglicht AniMatch Wissenschaftlern, Angebote für die Mehrfachnutzung von Versuchstieren einzustellen und zu suchen. Dadurch wird ein verantwortungsvoller Umgang mit einer wertvollen biologischen Ressource angeregt und der Tierverbrauch effektiv reduziert. Das 3R Zentrum Rhein-Neckar nutzt diese Plattform für den Raum Mannheim-Heidelberg. Weitere Partner sind in Planung (link).

 

🔄 Organbank Ratte am ZI Mannheim

Am ZI-Mannheim wurde eine Organbank mit verschiedenen alkoholpräferierenden Rattenlinien etabliert. Das Ziel der Organbank ist die Charakterisierung von molekularen Kaskaden, die an alkoholbedingten Krankheiten beteiligt sind. In einem vergleichenden Ansatz wird eine Organbank von alkoholabhängigen Patienten verwendet. Mittels Microarray-Ansätze und Proteomanalysen aus dem Material dieser Organbank werden wir in der Lage sein, molekulare Netzwerke aufzuspüren die den pathologischen Zustand auslösen. Diese Organbank ist eine zentrale Einrichtung für die Nutzung durch Forscher des ZI sowie nach Anfrage in einem auf Zusammenarbeit basierenden Kontext international erlaubt (link).

 

🔄 SYstematic Review Centre for Laboratory animal Experimentation (SYRCLE)

SYRCLE ist das Forschungs- und Ausbildungszentrum der Animal Research Facility (CDL) des Radboud University Medical Center in den Niederlanden. Ein von SYRCLE veröffentlichter Übersichtsartikel mit dem Titel "A step-by-step guide to systematically identify all relevant animal studies" (Eine Schritt-für-Schritt-Anleitung zur systematischen Identifizierung aller relevanten Tierversuche) zeigt, dass "vor dem Beginn eines neuen Tierversuchs eine gründliche Analyse der zuvor durchgeführten Versuche sowohl aus wissenschaftlicher als auch aus ethischer Sicht unerlässlich ist." (link).

🔄 Interspezies-Datenbank

Anatomische, physiologische und biochemische Unterschiede sind die Hauptfaktoren, die zu Diskrepanzen zwischen Mensch und Tier in Bezug auf die Kinetik von Xenobiotika führen. Die vom Nationalen Institut für öffentliche Gesundheit und Umwelt (RIVM) in den Niederlanden und dem 3Rs-Centre Utrecht Life Sciences (ULS) ins Leben gerufene Datenbank ermöglicht es Forschern, das beste Forschungsmodell zu wählen. Benutzer können aus verschiedenen Spezies und Stämmen, Organen, Altersklassen, Geschlecht und bestimmten Parametern wählen und diese miteinander oder mit menschlichen Daten vergleichen (link).

🔄 Modelle in der translationalen Onkologie (MiTO)

Die MiTO-Plattform, die vom Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum (DKFZ) betrieben wird, ist ein zentraler Bestandteil des Deutschen Krebskonsortiums. Die Plattform ermöglicht es Wissenschaftlern, ihre Krebsmodelle einzugeben und ein breites Spektrum anderer existierender Modelle zu durchsuchen, darunter Tiermodelle, Patientenproben, genetisch homogene, permanent wachsende Zelllinien und genetisch heterogene primäre Zellen, die aus Geweben von menschlichen Patienten oder Tieren stammen (link).

🔄 SEARCHBreast

Die SEARCHBreast Plattform, die durch NC3Rs-Förderung etabliert wurde, ist ein großes Netzwerk von Brustkrebsforschern mit in vivo, in vitro und in silico Modellen von Brustkrebs. SEARCHBreast ermöglicht die gemeinsame Nutzung von archiviertem Material, das aus in vivo Brustkrebsmodellen stammt (link).

🔄 Münchener MIDY-Schwein-Biobank

Die Munich MIDY Pig Biobank ermöglicht systematische Studien zum Organ-Crosstalk bei Diabetes in einer Multi-Organ- und Multi-Omics-Dimension. MIDY-Schweine stellen ein Modell des schlecht kontrollierten Diabetes mellitus (DM) beim Menschen dar. Diese komplexe Biobank wurde aus 2-jährigen MIDY- und Wildtyp-Schweinen aufgebaut (link).

🔄 QPS Austria GmbH - Nager-Biobank

QPS Austria ist ein Full-Service Auftragsforschungsinstitut (CRO), das sich auf ZNS-Erkrankungen, Orphan Diseases und psychische Störungen konzentriert und sowohl präklinische als auch klinische Forschungsdienstleistungen anbietet. Es stehen Gewebe von transgenen und nicht-transgenen Tieren verschiedener Altersgruppen zur Verfügung, wie z.B. Hirngewebe, Liquor und Plasmaproben. Die Biobank setzt sich aus verschiedenen Proben zusammen, die aus den hauseigenen In-vivo-Modellen stammen (link).