shutterstock_114197461.jpg

Replacement

"Replacement of animal experiments with methods or experimental strategies that are not associated with the use of live animals". (Source: Bf3R ) Further definitions of the 3R can be found on the website of the NC3R .

HUMAN tissue

🔄  Biobank of the ZI-Mannheim: BioPsy

This biobank is a central facility for use by ZI researchers and, upon request, internationally permitted in a collaboration-based context ( link ).

 

🔄  The German Biobank Register

The German Biobank Register provides an overview of all medically relevant biobanks in Germany. In addition to the contact details for the individual registered biobanks, you will also find information on specific research focuses and sample types ( link ).

 

🔄  German Biobank Node / German Biobank Alliance

The German Biobank Node serves as a central cooperation platform for the German biobank community. The "Sample Locator" tool enables the biobanks of the German Biobank Alliance (GBA) to be searched for samples with certain criteria. The German Biobank Directory provides important information on academic biobanks in Germany ( link )

Literature search

🔄 The EURL ECVAM Search Guide: A good search platform for animal-free alternatives

This guide was developed by the European Union Reference Laboratory for Alternatives to Animal Testing (EURL ECVAM) to help untrained database users find high-quality information on relevant alternative strategies and methods from the multitude of sources available on the Internet ( link ).

 

🔄 ALTBIB - alternatives to animal experiments

This NIH Database on Alternatives to Animal Testing provides an overview of the literature in a format that is easy to browse. The bibliography contains citations from published articles, books, book chapters and technical reports ( link ).

 

🔄 Search for alternative animal experiments

This guide from the -UC Davis Library- explains the entire process of an alternative search: how to define the right questions, select suitable databases, build a search strategy, evaluate search results and manage search results ( link ).

 

🔄 3R Smart: literature search for alternatives to animal experiments

3R Smart is a training platform for methodical approaches to reducing animal experiments. There are also examples of the search strategy for alternative methods on the website ( link ).

DATA Bases

🔄 AnimAlt-ZEBET - Database on alternatives to animal experiments

The ZEBET (Central Office for Documentation and Evaluation of Alternative Methods to Animal Experiments) at the Federal Institute for Risk Assessment (BfR) provides scientists with information on alternative methods in this database. The ZEBET database offers validated information on alternative methods that meet at least one of the following three criteria: The method can replace animal experiments (Replacement), the number of test animals is reduced (Reduction) or the pain and suffering of the test animals are minimized (Refinement) ( link ).

 

🔄 EURL ECVAM database on alternative methods to animal experiments (DB-ALM)

DB-ALM primarily focuses on methods submitted to EURL ECVAM for validation, as well as those identified in ad hoc reviews of the literature and by end users in specific application areas between 2000 and 2019 ( link ).

 

🔄 Validated alternative methods for toxicity testing

The European Union Reference Laboratory for Alternatives to Animal Testing (EURL ECVAM) is an integral part of the Joint Research Center (JRC), the European Commission's science and knowledge service. It contributed to the validation of the test methods listed here ( link ).

 

🔄 Online resource inventory: Replace

In 2020 the Swedish 3R center launched a database of online 3R resources dedicated to the topic of “Replacement” ( link ).

laboratory consumables

🔄 Animal-free cell culture media

Fetal calf serum (FCS, also known as Fetal Bovine Serum or FBS) is a common addition to animal cell culture media. This database provided by the 3R Center ULS in collaboration with Animal Free Research UK offers an overview of FCS-free media for cell culture ( link ).

 

🔄 The EURL ECVAM recommendation on non-animal antibodies

This Science for Policy report describes the EURL ECVAM recommendations on non-animal antibodies, which were developed on the basis of the ESAC opinion (Appendix 1) and the detailed report of the working group (Appendix 2). The compilation focused on non-animal antibodies generated using phage display technology ( link ).

 

🔄 Biocompare's database for recombinant antibodies

Recombinant antibodies are produced without the use of laboratory animals. Researchers can use the Biocompare database to search for them. Biocompare is a source of up-to-date product information, product reviews and new technologies for life scientists ( link ).

replacement methods

🔄 Animal-free OECD-approved toxicological testing strategy

Before a new product is approved by the authorities and launched on the market, numerous tests must be carried out. These include testing whether the product sensitizes the skin. Until now, this always required animal testing. With the new method, it can be predicted whether a substance causes allergic reactions of the skin. Unlike in the past, animal testing will no longer be necessary for this investigation in the future (link).

shutterstock_114197461.jpg

Replacement

„Ersatz von Tierversuchen durch Methoden oder Versuchsstrategien, die nicht mit dem Einsatz lebender Tiere verbunden sind“. (Quelle: Bf3R) Weitere Definitionen der 3R finden Sie auf der Website des NC3Rs.

HUMANES GEWEBE

🔄  Biobank des ZI-Mannheim: BioPsy

Diese Biobank ist eine zentrale Einrichtung für die Nutzung durch Forscher des ZI sowie nach Anfrage in einem auf Zusammenarbeit basierenden Kontext international erlaubt (link).

 

🔄  Das Deutsche Biobanken-Register

Das Deutsche Biobanken-Register bietet einen Überblick über alle medizinisch relevanten Biobanken in Deutschland. Neben den Kontaktdaten zu den einzelnen registrierten Biobanken finden Sie hier auch Informationen zu spezifischen Forschungsschwerpunkten und Probenarten (link).

 

🔄  Deutscher Biobanken-Knoten / Deutsche Biobanken-Allianz

Der Deutsche Biobanken-Knoten dient als zentrale Kooperationsplattform für die deutsche Biobanken-Community. Das Tool „Sample Locator" ermöglicht es, die in der Deutschen Biobank-Allianz (GBA) zusammengeschlossenen Biobanken nach Proben mit bestimmten Kriterien zu durchsuchen. Das German Biobank Directory liefert wichtige Informationen zu akademischen Biobanken in Deutschland (link)

LITERATURSUCHE

🔄 Der EURL ECVAM-Suchleitfaden: Gute Suchplatform zu tierfreie Alternativen

Dieser Leitfaden wurde vom Referenzlabor der Europäischen Union für Alternativen zu Tierversuchen (EURL ECVAM) entwickelt, um ungeschulte Datenbanknutzer bei der Suche nach qualitativ hochwertigen Informationen zu relevanten alternativen Strategien und Methoden aus der Vielzahl der im Internet verfügbaren Quellen zu unterstützen (link).

 

🔄 ALTBIB - Alternativen zu Tierversuchen

Diese NIH-Datenbank zu Alternativen zu Tierversuchen bietet einen Überblick über die Literatur in einem Format, das ein einfaches Durchforsten ermöglicht. Die Bibliographie enthält Zitate aus veröffentlichten Artikeln, Büchern, Buchkapiteln und technischen Berichten (link).

 

🔄 Suche nach Tierversuchsalternativen

Dieser Leitfaden der -UC Davis Library- erklärt den gesamten Prozess einer Alternativensuche: wie man die richtigen Fragen definiert, geeignete Datenbanken auswählt, eine Suchstrategie aufbaut, Suchergebnisse auswertet und Suchergebnisse verwaltet (link).

 

🔄 3R Smart: Literatursuche nach Alternativen zu Tierversuchen

3R Smart ist eine Schulungsplattform für methodische Ansätze zur Reduktion von Tierversuchen. Auf dem Internetauftritt gibt es auch Beispiele für die Suchstrategie für Alternativmethoden (link).

Datenbanken

🔄 AnimAlt-ZEBET - Datenbank zu Alternativen zu Tierversuchen

Die ZEBET (Zentralstelle zur Dokumentation und Bewertung von Ersatzmethoden zum Tierversuch) am Bundesinstitut für Risikobewertung (BfR) stellt Wissenschaftlern in dieser Datenbank Informationen zu Alternativmethoden zur Verfügung. Die ZEBET-Datenbank bietet validierte Informationen zu Alternativmethoden, die mindestens eines der drei folgenden Kriterien erfüllen: Die Methode kann Tierversuche ersetzen (Replacement), die Anzahl der Versuchstiere wird reduziert (Reduction) oder die Schmerzen und Leiden der Versuchstiere werden minimiert (Refinement) (link).

 

🔄 EURL ECVAM-Datenbank zu Alternativmethoden zu Tierversuchen (DB-ALM)

DB-ALM konzentriert sich in erster Linie auf Methoden, die bei EURL ECVAM zur Validierung eingereicht wurden, sowie auf solche, die in Ad-hoc-Reviews der Literatur und von Endbenutzer in bestimmten Anwendungsbereichen zwischen 2000 und 2019 identifiziert wurden (link).

 

🔄 Validierte alternative Methoden für Toxizitätstests

Das Referenzlabor der Europäischen Union für Alternativen zu Tierversuchen (EURL ECVAM) ist ein integraler Bestandteil der Gemeinsamen Forschungsstelle (GFS), des Wissenschafts- und Wissensdienstes der Europäischen Kommission. Es hat zur Validierung der hier aufgeführten Testmethoden beigetragen (link).

 

🔄 Inventar der Online-Ressourcen: Replace

Das schwedische 3R-Zentrum hat 2020 eine Datenbank von Online-3R-Ressourcen gestartet, das sich dem Thema „Replacement“ widmet (link).

Laborverbrauchsmaterialien

🔄 Tierfreie Zellkulturmedien

Fötales Kälberserum (FCS, auch bekannt als Fötales Bovines Serum oder FBS) ist ein gängiger Zusatz von tierischen Zellkulturmedien. Diese vom 3R-Zentrum ULS in Zusammenarbeit mit Animal Free Research UK bereitgestellte Datenbank bietet einen Überblick über FCS-freie Medien für die Zellkultur (link).

 

🔄 Die EURL ECVAM-Empfehlung zu nicht-tierischen Antikörpern

Dieser Science-for-Policy-Bericht beschreibt die EURL ECVAM-Empfehlungen zu nicht-tierischen Antikörpern, die auf der Grundlage der ESAC-Stellungnahme (Anhang 1) und des detaillierten Berichts der Arbeitsgruppe (Anhang 2) entwickelt wurden. Die Zusammenstellung konzentrierte sich auf nicht-tierische Antikörper, die mittels Phagen-Display-Technologie erzeugt wurde (link).

 

🔄 Biocompare's Datenbank für rekombinante Antikörper

Rekombinante Antikörper werden ohne den Einsatz von Labortieren hergestellt. Forscher können die Biocompare-Datenbank nutzen, um nach ihnen zu suchen. Biocompare ist eine Quelle für aktuelle Produktinformationen, Produktbewertungen und neue Technologien für Biowissenschaftler (link).