shutterstock_91515206.jpg

The 3r principle

The 3R principle is based on the following three aspects: First, animal experiments should be replaced by suitable alternatives wherever possible (replace).

If this is not possible, the second thing is to reduce the number of animal experiments to the lowest possible level (Reduce). Thirdly, the optimization of scientific methods and measurement procedures, the careful selection of animal models and species-appropriate housing should reduce the stress on the test animals as much as possible (refine).

 

Contact point and support for animal researchers

An important task of the center is to coordinate animal experiments in the Rhine-Neckar region even better in the future so that comparable test arrangements are not carried out twice at different locations. A database should help to facilitate the mutual exchange between the laboratories. The new center is intended to be a single point of contact when it comes to designing new experiments. The 3R-Center Rhein-Neckar would like to involve the scientists who are already working in experimental animal research or who intend to do so, because they are best able to refine their experiments in the interests of animal welfare and to reduce the number of experiments . For this reason, researchers at the 3R-Center receive support in the selection of meaningful animal models, training on the 3R principles and special seminars. It is also about free access to research results. The 3R-Center Rhein-Neckar is committed to the Open Science principles and encourages scientists to work and publish according to these principles.

 

Obtain data using alternative approaches

In order to further reduce animal experiments, the 3R-Center supports research projects that obtain data with the help of alternative approaches. These include, for example, laboratory tests on cell systems and organoids (in vitro approaches) as well as experiments with the help of computer models and simulations or with the help of retrieving data from special databases (in silico). Such big data approaches hold great potential for animal welfare in research in the field of preclinical neurosciences.

shutterstock_91515206.jpg

Das 3r Prinzip

Das 3R-Prinzip basiert auf den drei folgenden Aspekten: Erstens sollen Tierversuche möglichst durch geeignete Alternativen ersetzt werden (Replace).

Ist dies nicht möglich, so gilt es zweitens, die Anzahl an Tierversuchen auf ein möglichst geringes Maß zu reduzieren (Reduce). Drittens sollen durch die Optimierung von wissenschaftlichen Methoden und Messverfahren, die sorgfältige Auswahl von Tiermodellen und die artgerechte Haltung die Belastungen für die Versuchstiere so weit wie möglich verbessert werden (Refine).

 

Anlaufstelle und Unterstützung für TierforscherInnen

Eine wichtige Aufgabe des Zentrums ist es, Tierversuche in der Rhein-Neckar-Region künftig noch besser zu koordinieren, so dass vergleichbare Versuchsanordnungen nicht an unterschiedlichen Standorten doppelt ausgeführt werden. Eine Datenbank soll helfen, den gemeinsamen Austausch der Labore zu erleichtern. Das neue Zentrum soll eine feste Anlaufstelle sein (single point of contact), wenn es um das Design neuer Experimente geht. Das 3R-Zentrum Rhein-Neckar möchte die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, die bereits in der experimentellen Tierforschung arbeiten oder dies beabsichtigen, einbinden, denn sie sind am besten in der Lage, ihre Versuche im Sinne des Tierwohls zu verfeinern und die Anzahl der Versuche zu reduzieren. Daher werden im 3R-Zentrum Forscherinnen und Forscher Unterstützung bei der Auswahl sinnvoller Tiermodelle, Trainings zu den 3R-Prinzipien und spezielle Seminare erhalten. Dabei geht es auch um den freien Zugang zu Forschungsergebnissen. Das 3R-Zentrum Rhein-Neckar engagiert sich für die Open-Science-Grundsätze und ermuntert Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler nach diesen Grundsätzen zu arbeiten und zu publizieren.

 

Daten mit Hilfe alternativer Ansätze gewinnen

Um Tierversuche weiter zu reduzieren, unterstützt das 3R-Zentrum Forschungsprojekte, die Daten mit Hilfe alternativer Ansätze gewinnen. Dazu zählen etwa Labortests an Zellsystemen und Organoide (in vitro Ansätze) sowie Versuche mit Hilfe von Computermodellen und -simulationen beziehungsweise mit Hilfe des Abrufs von bereits erhobenen Daten aus speziellen Datenbanken (in silico). Solche Big-Data-Ansätze bergen im Bereich der präklinischen Neurowissenschaften großes Potenzial für den Tierschutz in der Forschung.